Tengo dos amores (with apologies to Josephine Baker)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I first heard “J’ai deux amours” by Josephine Baker I understood the song as an abstraction: a song expressing the feelings of an incredible entertainer from the US who had to move to Paris to come into her own. Now, the song has a much more personal meeting.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I never expected to become so attached to a city and its people. I did not expect the intoxication that comes from being able to communicate in another language other than your mother tongue (no matter how many mistakes you make in grammar and pronunciation). And like Josephine, often times, I was treated better here as a stranger then I was in my country of origin.

So in my final blog for this site I will let pictures take the place of words and I will let Josephine Baker express more fully what I wish I could.

Published in: on June 24, 2010 at 1:01 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://drdspain.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/tengo-dos-amores-with-apologies-to-josephine-baker/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

